Home » Full Forms » Organizational full forms

What is the full form of BCCI?

Full form of BCCI: Here, we are going to learn about the BCCI, full form of BCCI, overview, history, Tournaments conducted by BCCI, etc.
Submitted by Anushree Goswami, on January 23, 2020

BCCI: Board of Control for Cricket in India

BCCI is an abbreviation of the Board of Control for Cricket in India. It is for the nationwide a governing body for cricket in India. As a society, the board was created in December 1928. Under the Tamil Nadu Societies Registration Act, the board was registered. It is a group of state cricket associations. The selection of the BCCI Chief is done through those representatives who are elected by state associations. Its head office is situated in Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. The association of BCCI is with the International Cricket Council (ICC). This board of Indian cricket is the richest cricket board in the world.

Inside and outside of India, the BCCI organizes and manages all Indian tournaments. In international events to select for the participation of players, umpires and officials, BCCI has the right to select and give the opportunity. The BCCI officials are designated by the council of state cricket associations. The utmost designation in BCCI is lead by the president of BCCI who takes the most significant decisions on tournaments, players, officials, etc.

On 30 January 2017, the Supreme Court selected a four-member panel Committee of Administrators in which Vinod Rai, Ramachandra Guha, Vikaram Limaye and Diana Edulji was the selected members, who were appointed to look after the administration of the BCCI in an arrangement to execute Lodha Committee reforms. Vinod Rai, who is ex-CAG of India, leads the four member's panel on the designation of the president to look after the administrative responsibilities of the board till that time at which the board will call the fresh elections.

In the present time, the president of BCCI is Sourav Ganguly, who is an Indian former cricketer, commentator, and administrator.

The logo of BCCI is a consequential derivative of the British Indian flag in the duration of the colonial time.

Full form of BCCI: Board of Control for Cricket in India

Image source:

The first president of BCCI was R.E.Grant Govan and the first secretary of BCCI was Anthony De Mello.

BCCI comprises 27 state association members and it also comprises 3 non-playing members from all 5 cricket zones in India.

These 5 cricket zones are,

  • North Zone
  • South Zone
  • East Zone
  • West Zone
  • Central Zone

Tournaments conducted by BCCI

Following mentioned below are the tournaments conducted by BCCI,

  • Indian Premier League (IPL)
  • BCCI Corporate Trophy
  • Irani Cup
  • Ranji Trophy
  • Duleep Trophy
  • Vijay hazare Trophy
  • Deodhar Trophy
  • Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy
  • NKP Salve Challenger Trophy


Comments and Discussions




Languages: » C » C++ » C++ STL » Java » Data Structure » C#.Net » Android » Kotlin » SQL
Web Technologies: » PHP » Python » JavaScript » CSS » Ajax » Node.js » Web programming/HTML
Solved programs: » C » C++ » DS » Java » C#
Aptitude que. & ans.: » C » C++ » Java » DBMS
Interview que. & ans.: » C » Embedded C » Java » SEO » HR
CS Subjects: » CS Basics » O.S. » Networks » DBMS » Embedded Systems » Cloud Computing
» Machine learning » CS Organizations » Linux » DOS
More: » Articles » Puzzles » News/Updates

© some rights reserved.