What is Advanced Research Projects Agency Network (ARPANET)?

Advanced Research Projects Agency Network (ARPANET): Here, we are going to learn about the advanced research projects agency network, its history, execution, etc.
Submitted by Anushree Goswami, on January 09, 2021

ARPANET: Advanced Research Projects Agency Network

ARPANET is an abbreviation of "Advanced Research Projects Agency Network". It was the primary wide-area packet-switching network with disseminated management and power and the foremost network to put into service the TCP/IP protocol suite. Both technologies turned out to be the technical establishment of the Internet. The Advanced Research Projects Agency (ARPA) of the United States Department of Defense founded the ARPANET.


  • In 1966, based on the objectives of J. C. R. Licklider, Bob Taylor instigated the ARPANET project and chosen Larry Roberts as program manager.
  • In 1969, the first computers were linked and the Network Control Program was put into operation in 1970.
  • At the beginning of the 1970s, Networking research is done by Bob Kahn and Vint Cerf led to the preparation of the Transmission Control Program (TCP) in 1974, which integrated ideas from the French CYCLADES project headed by Louis Pouzin. Since the network expansion and growth advanced; a protocol for internetworking was built up by which a variety of split networks could be attached into a network of networks.
  • In 1981, Access to the ARPANET was progressed, when the National Science Foundation (NSF) financially supported the Computer Science Network (CSNET).
  • In January 1983, version 4 of TCP/IP was installed in the ARPANET, which was formerly mentioned as IP/TCP, for fabrication use subsequent to the Department of Defense made it customary for the entire military computer networking.
  • At the beginning of the 1980s, the NSF financially supported the founding of national supercomputing centers at a number of universities and made available network access and network interconnectivity with the NSFNET project in 1986.
  • In 1990, the ARPANET project was officially withdrawn from service; subsequent to joint ventures with the telecommunication industry covered the approach for the upcoming commercialization of an original global network, known as the Internet.


The original ARPANET comprised four IMPs, which are:

  • The University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), where Leonard Kleinrock had founded a Network Measurement Center, with an SDS Sigma 7 being the primary computer connected to it;
  • The Augmentation Research Center at Stanford Research Institute (at present SRI International), where Douglas Engelbart had developed the ground-breaking NLS system, a highly significant premature hypertext system, and would operate the Network Information Center (NIC), with the SDS 940 that ran NLS, named "Genie", being the first host joined;
  • The University of California, Santa Barbara (UCSB), with the Culler-Fried Interactive Mathematics Center's IBM 360/75, operating OS/MVT being the machine connected;
  • The University of Utah School of Computing, where Ivan Sutherland had shifted, administering a DEC PDP-10 operating on TENEX.

Reference: ARPANET

Algo tagged in: Dictionary – 'A'

Comments and Discussions!

Load comments ↻

Copyright © 2024 www.includehelp.com. All rights reserved.