Software Engineering Tutorial

Discrete Mathematics Tutorial

Digital Electronics Tutorial

SEI Capability Maturity Model (CMM)

In this tutorial, we will learn about the SEI capability maturity model, types of messages in the SEI capability maturity model. By Monika Sharma Last updated : April 07, 2023

What is Capability Maturity Model (CMM)?

The Capability Maturity Model (CMM) that specifies an increment level of a software development organization level by level. The higher the level, the best the software development process for the model, hence allocated at each level is a costly and time-consuming process for CCM.

Levels of Capability Maturity Model (CMM)

The 5 levels of capability maturity model (CMM) are:

  • State One: Initial
  • State Two: Managed
  • Level Three: Defined
  • Level Four: Measured
  • Level Five: Optimizing

State One: Initial

The software process is characterized as inconsistent or incompatible with, and occasionally even chaotic. Defined processes and standard practices that exist are abandoned during a disaster. The success of the organization or institution majorly depends on an alone effort, talent, and heroics. The heroes basically move on to other organizations or institutions taking their means of knowledge or learnt with them.

State Two: Managed

This level of Software Development Organization has an eventually and consistently project management processes to find the cost, schedule, and functionality for SEI. The process is in place to run again and again the earlier successes on projects with the same applications. Program management is the main characteristic of a level two organization for this.

Level Three: Defined

The software process for management and engineering activities are documented, well-known and integrated into a perfect software process for the entire organization or institution and all the projects across the organization use a right, tailored version of the organization's standard software process for developing,testing and maintaining the application for SEI.

Level Four: Measured

Management can effectively maintain the software development effort using exact measurements. At this level, the organization set a quantitative quality goal for software process and software maintenance both. At this maturity state, the way of processes is to maintain using statistical and different quantitative techniques and is quantitatively predictable for this.

Level Five: Optimizing

The main characteristic of this level is focusing on continually better performance process performance through both increasing and unique technological improvements for CMM. At this level, changes to the process are to find the process performance and at the same time changes statistical probability to get the quantitative process-improvement objectives for this.

SEI Capability Maturity Model

Comments and Discussions!

Load comments ↻

Copyright © 2024 www.includehelp.com. All rights reserved.