Contemporary South Asia – Class 12 Political Science MCQs

Let us shift our gaze from the larger global developments in the post-Cold War era to developments in our region, South Asia.

This section contains the multiple-choice questions and answers on Class 12 Political Science - Contemporary South Asia. Practice these MCQs to learn and test the skills of Contemporary South Asia.

MCQs on Contemporary South Asia

1. When did India and Pakistan sign the Indus Waters Treaty?

  1. 1899
  2. 1960
  3. 1965
  4. 1956

Answer: B) 1960


India and Pakistan signed the Indus water treaty in 1960.

2. Who removed the Bhutto government in 1977?

  1. General Syed Shaikh
  2. General Zia-ul-Haq
  3. Ayub khan
  4. Yahya khan

Answer: B) General Zia-ul-Haq


The Bhutto government was removed by General Zia-ul-Haq in 1977.

3. Under the whom rule, does Pakistan faces the Bangladesh crisis?

  1. Ayub Khan
  2. Bhutto
  3. Zia-ul-Haq
  4. Yahya khan

Answer: D) Yahya khan


During General Yahya's military rule, Pakistan faced the Bangladesh crisis.

4. Bangladesh was a part of Pakistan from?

  1. 1945-1950
  2. 1947-1971
  3. 1947-1960
  4. 1947-1970

Answer: B) 1947-1971


Bangladesh was a part of Pakistan from 1947 to 1971.

5. Who led the popular struggle against west Pakistani domination?

  1. Ayub khan
  2. Yahya khan
  3. Sheikh Mujib-ur Rahman
  4. Zulfikar Bhutto

Answer: C) Sheikh Mujib-ur Rahman


Sheik Mujib- ur Rahman led the popular struggle against west Pakistani domination.

6. When did Nepal become a democratic republic?

  1. 2007
  2. 2008
  3. 1967
  4. 2000

Answer: B) 2008


In 2008, Nepal became a democratic republic after abolishing the monarchy. Later in 2015, it adopted a new constitution.

7. When did India conduct her nuclear test?

  1. May 1947
  2. May 1974
  3. July 1974
  4. June 1976

Answer: B) May 1974


In May 1974, India conducted her nuclear test in Rajasthan's Pokhran.

8. When was The South Asia Free Trade Area (SAFTA) signed?

  1. 2005
  2. 2009
  3. 2000
  4. 2004

Answer: D) 2004


The South Asia Free Trade Area (SAFTA) Agreement was signed on January 6, 2004, at the 12th SAARC Summit held in Islamabad.

9. When did SAFTA come into force or effect?

  1. 2006
  2. 2004
  3. 2008
  4. 2005

Answer: A) 2006


The South Asian Free Trade Area (SAFTA) is the free trade arrangement of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation. The agreement came into force on 1st January,2006 succeeding the 1993 SAARC Preferential Trading Arrangement.

10. What was the codename of the Pokhran nuclear test?

  1. Fat man
  2. Short boy
  3. Smiling buddha
  4. Honey tea

Answer: C) Smiling buddha


The codename of the Pokhran nuclear test in 1974 was informally named "Smiling Buddha".

👇 More MCQs (Category-Wise) 👇

Web Technologies MCQs

Computer Science Subjects MCQs

Databases MCQs

Programming MCQs

Testing Software MCQs

Digital Marketing Subjects MCQs

Cloud Computing Softwares MCQs

AI/ML Subjects MCQs

Engineering Subjects MCQs

Office Related Programs MCQs

Commerce MCQs

Graphic Design Softwares MCQs

General Knowledge (GK) MCQs

Class-wise MCQs


Comments and Discussions!

Load comments ↻

Copyright © 2024 All rights reserved.