Recent Developments in Indian Politics – Class 12 Political Science MCQs

The country witnessed five developments that were to make a long-lasting impact on our politics.

This section contains the multiple-choice questions and answers on Class 12 Political Science - Recent Developments in Indian Politics. Practice these MCQs to learn and test the skills of Recent Developments in Indian Politics.

MCQs on Recent Developments in Indian Politics

1. The rise of the 'Mandal issue' in national politics took place in?

  1. First development
  2. Second development
  3. Third development
  4. None of the above

Answer: B) Second development


Second development was the rise of the ‘Mandal issue’ in national politics.

2. When was Rajiv Gandhi assassinated?

  1. 1991
  2. 1990
  3. 1873
  4. 2004

Answer: A) 1991


The assassination of Rajiv Gandhi took place in May 1991.

3. When was the Babri Masjid demolished?

  1. Oct
  2. 5th Jan
  3. 6th Dec
  4. 15th July

Answer: C) 6th Dec


The Babri Masjid was demolished on 6th December 1992. After the demolition, the news led to clashes between the Hindus and Muslims in many parts of the country.

4. Voluntary service by devotees for building Ram Temple in Ayodhya is called?

  1. Punya
  2. Karseva
  3. Karamseva
  4. Ramajanah

Answer: B) Karseva


Voluntary service by devotees for building Ram Temple in Ayodhya is called karseva.

5. What is Hindutva?

  1. Sab Bhai
  2. Hinduism
  3. Hindu Dharam
  4. Ek Rajya

Answer: B) Hinduism


Hindutva means Hinduism defined by its originator V.D. Savarkar as the basis of Indian nationhood to be a member of the Indian nation everyone must not only accept India as their fatherland 'Pitrubhu' but also as their holy land 'Punyabhu'.

6. When was Janata Dal formed?

  1. 1988
  2. 1678
  3. 1998
  4. 1999

Answer: C) 1998


Janata Dal was formed in 1998.

7. When was B.J.P established?

  1. 1999
  2. 1888
  3. 1980
  4. 1986

Answer: C) 1980


B.J.P Bharatiya janata party was established in 1980.

8. Who came into power in 1989?

  1. Narasimha Rao
  2. Atal Vajpayee
  3. V.P Singh
  4. None of the above

Answer: C) V.P Singh


V. P. Singh was sworn in as the seventh Prime Minister of India on 2 December 1989.

9. Who was in power in 1992 in India?

  1. V.P Singh
  2. Shri Chandra shekhar
  3. PV Narasimha Rao
  4. Indira gandhi

Answer: C) PV Narasimha Rao


P V Narasimha Rao of Indian National Congress became the Prime Minister of India from 21 June 1991 till 16 May 1996, after INC won 244 seats, 47 more than the previous 9th Lok Sabha.

10. Who established the Mandal commission in 1979?

  1. Morarji Desai
  2. VP Singh
  3. Narasimha Rao
  4. Not Established in 1979

Answer: A) Morarji Desai


Mandal Commission was set up in 1979 January by the Morarji Desai government to identify the socially or educationally backward classes to consider the question of seat reservations and quotas for people to redress caste discrimination, and used eleven social, economic, and educational indicators to determine backwardness.

Comments and Discussions!

Load comments ↻

Copyright © 2024 All rights reserved.